RSS

Soul Surfer?

05 Sep

I recently received an add from a local Christian bookstore advertizing a new movie entitled “Soul Surfer.”  I have heard a lot of talk among Christians about this movie, and its positive influence so I will give my thoughts. I want to preface this opinion with my sympathies to the family & young lady who lost her arm in the real life event that this movie is based on. This is not an opinion about the family or the girl, only for the movie and its content. I have not seen the movie, only the trailer and add, which were enough to come to these conclusions.

 As a pastor I try to give a biblical insight to as many things that would influence people as I can. Not that I am the final authority; Gods word is our authority and Rule, I am only a messenger for him.  Here are some scriptures that will lead our thinking.  

2 Kings 17:15  And they rejected his statutes, and his covenant that he made with their fathers, and his testimonies which he testified against them; and they followed vanity, and became vain, and went after the heathen that were round about them, concerning whom the LORD had charged them, that they should not do like them. 

2 Corinthians 6:17  Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you,

1 John 2:15-17  Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.  16  For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.  17  And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

Psalms 101:3  I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

Any movie that would promote people running around half naked I am against. This may be an inspirational story, but it is not an appropriate movie for any Christian. The bathing suit is nothing but glorified and colorful underwear.  Just because there is water and sand doesn’t make this practice fitting behavior for God’s people. Think of everyone showing up at your work in their underwear, or at the grocery store or church! What if you invited company to your home, and there in front of your wife and children they show up in their underwear. You say it’s not the same, you’re at home not the beach, and there is no sand or water. Ok, say you live where there is sand and water; do you want your company showing up for dinner in their underwear? It’s wrong no matter where you are. We are to be separate from the world; we are to be modest in our dress and apparel no matter where we are.

This is a great tragedy in our day. The world and the church are to much the same. There are very little lines between God’s people and the world. God calls his people to be different! Who will be different, who will raise their family in the old paths and the good way? It is my opinion that this movie and others like it are an abomination to the holy things of God. Christians should not watch it nor glorify the sin it promotes. Please stand for truth, stand for Christ and what is right.

Here are some things to consider while making your entertainment choices:

  1. Will this honor God 
  2. Will this set a godly example for others to follow
  3. Will this bring me closer to God
  4. Will this make me more like Christ
  5. Would I ask Christ to take part in this
  6. Will I be a stronger Christian if I follow the examples set forth in this film
  7. Will I be able to praise God in this entertainment, could I thank him for what I’ve learned

 

 

 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 5, 2011 in The Pastor Recommends

 

One response to “Soul Surfer?

  1. Linda

    September 5, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Pastor you are a blessing to all of us. We can never thank you enough for all that you do. We can never thank your family enough for the time they have shared you with us. Be it rejoicing or comforting, it still takes you from them. I thank you all for the prayers, words of comfort, fellowship and genuine kindness that comes from all of you!

     

Leave a comment